Youtube tests Incognito in Youtube App

YouTube, a Google-owned video service, is testing an incognito feature for its mobile app, specifically the YouTube App. The “Incognito Mode” will help give YouTube users more security when using the app, especially when they are logging into other devices that aren’t theirs.

YouTube’s users can currently access a shortcut for an Incognito mode after clicking on their profile picture within the YouTube mobile app. When using the Incognito mode, the app doesn’t track any video plays for future, it won’t record your current session, and it would keep the user’s subscription list hidden. However, the familiar Incognito icon will still be visible in the top right corner indicating that you are browsing YouTube anonymously.

Privacy mode or Incognito mode is a privacy feature in some web browsers to disable browsing history and the web cache. This allows a person to browse the Web without storing local data that could be retrieved at a later date. Privacy mode will also disable the storage of data in cookies and Flash cookies. This privacy protection is only on the local computing device as it is still possible to identify frequented websites by associating the IP address at the web server.

When the Incognito mode was still not being tested, YouTube already had a feature that prevents the app from recording watch and searches history. YouTube users can find it under Settings > History & privacy. Now, the new Incognito mode would be easier to access because users won’t have to search through their set menus anymore. They would only have to click on their account picture and tap the option that says “Turn on Incognito.”

Tech-savvy users are skeptic about the Incognito mode because using it doesn’t provide true anonymity online. Internet service providers and other intermediaries may still be able to monitor who watches which videos based on the traffic passing through their systems. However, some experts beg to differ this notion, because they say that using Incognito mode can help limit the traces of a user’s searches.